When hosting a dinner party, hosts might be asked to provide some gluten-free foods. Gluten is a general name for proteins found in wheat that help foods maintain their shape. But gluten also can be found in cereal grains such as rye and barley as well as a variety of crossbreeds. Gluten is not unhealthy, but many people are gluten-intolerant. When such people, who may suffer from celiac disease, consume gluten, they may be triggering an immune system response that damages their intestines and prevents them from absorbing nutrients they need to stay healthy. Some gluten-intolerant people may be suffering from a wheat allergy that can produce various reactions to wheat allergens. Party hosts concerned about guests with a gluten intolerance may want to consult those guests about which foods they can and cannot eat. A gluten-free diet typically forbids gluten-intolerant men, women and children from consuming bread, beer, french fries, pasta, salad dressing, soy sauce, and certain soups. However, many food manufacturers have begun to produce gluten-free alternatives to popular foods and beverages, making it easier than ever for dinner party hosts to cater to gluten-intolerant guests.